Nascent

I can’t wait to see your eyes,
and show them things they’ll never forget.
You’ll see things that you love,
and those that you’ll regret.

I can’t wait to hold your hands,
they’ll be so soft and tender.
A warm touch of innocence,
before which all would surrender.

I wish to see your first steps,
following you from the time you crawl.
I’ll always be by your side,
to catch you when you fall.

I wonder what your first words will be,
I wonder how you’ll sound.
Patiently I’ll listen to your voice,
I’ll always be around.

I can’t wait to hear your dreams,
and witness all your choices.
Would you fight your demons,
or succumb to your vices?

I want to hear your heart beat,
I wish to hold you near.
But there was no pounding,
and I was struck with fear.

I wished to do so much,
and so much I wished to say.
But my fate is cursed by demons,
for bitter circumstances took you away.

2 thoughts on “Nascent

Leave a comment